Annually, through Scéim na bhFoghlaimeoirí Gaeilge, the Department of Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport & Media funds a Gaeltacht residency programme to enable post-primary students spend a period of one academic year, minimum, in one of three Galway and Roscommon Education Training Board (GRETB) post-primary schools on the Aran Islands. These schools are Coláiste Naomh Éinne Inis Mór, Coláiste Ghobnait, Inis Oírr and Coláiste Naomh Eoin, Inis Meáin. This policy applies to these three island schools only.

Coláiste Ghobnait is a small all-Irish second level school. Education is provided here up to Leaving Certificate Level, including Junior Certificate and Transition Year, to the island community and to other students who wish to study through the medium of Irish.

Please see the attached Policy for more information regarding this scheme and the application form can be found at

Scholarship Policy (pdf, 754kb)

Entry Form 2024/2025